Download Android Version

Manage your Employees, Payroll & Stock with Divine HRM. Click here for demo.

APC members that won’t campaign for Buhari in 2019

It is almost a done deal that President Muhammadu Buhari will be the presidential candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC in 2019. Since the president signified his intention to go for second term all other prospective aspirants in the party have shelved their plans to contest for the ticket of the party. It is also the second term ambition of President Buhari that chased former vice president Atiku Abubakar out of the APC. Atiku is not a green horn on the political turf and he knows it is near impossible to beat a sitting president at the primaries of political parties.
However, as President Buhari prepares to go into his campaign for re-election there are several chieftains of the APC that may not join Buhari’s campaign train. These are aggrieved APC members that have axe to grind with the President.
Among APC members that may not campaign for Buhari are:
Senator Bukola Saraki:
The Senate President will most probably lead the pack of APC members that will not campaign for the re-election of President Buhari. Since Senator Saraki outmaneuvered the entire leadership of the APC to emerge as Senate President in 2015 he has been having running battle with the national leadership of APC and the Presidency. Initially in 2015 President Buhari gave signals that he was not interested in who becomes the Senate President and was ready to work with anyone elected by the senators to lead the upper chamber of the National Assembly. However, events that started unfolding after Saraki emerged show it is apparent that the President want him out at all costs. First was the issue of assets declaration, later the issue of non-payment of customs duty on imported vehicle and the latest being the issue of Offa bank robbery where the police is trying desperately to link the Senate President.
Since APC came into office the executive and the legislature at the federal level are at dagger drawn. There appear to be no end in sight in the tug of war between these two arms of government and this will likely spill into the campaign period. Not few Nigerians believe Saraki will do everything possible, including working with the opposition, to ensure Buhari does not return to Aso Rock presidential villa after 2019 presidential election.
Chief John Odigie-Oyegun:   
The outgoing national chairman of the APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun would have completed his tenure by the time Buhari’s second term campaign goes into full steam. Initially Oyegun had been preparing himself to lead the 2019 campaign of President Buhari and last year he was even quoted that Buhari will get automatic ticket for 2019. The former governor of Edo State was very elated when Buhari, through the National Executive Committee, elongated his tenure and that of all members of APC National Working Committee. The joy of Oyegun was cut short when Buhari made a u-turn and prevailed to NEC to allow for an elective national convention. The open endorsement of Comrade Adam Oshiomhole by the president put paid to any ambition Oyegun may be nursing for a second term. By supporting Oshiomhole for the plum APC job, President Buhari has sent Oyegun on retirement from active politics. It is doubtful if Oyegun will come out of retirement in 2019 to join Buhari’s campaign team.
Hon Yakubu Dogara:
The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon Yakubu Dogara is in same boat with Senator Bukola Saraki. Hon Dogara emerged as Speaker against the permutations of APC leaders. The Bauchi-born lawmaker has been practically kicked out of the APC as he was shut out of the recent congresses of the party. Speaker Dogara has since dragged the party to court over the conduct of the APC congresses in Bauchi State. His face will be missing on the campaign train of Buhari in 2018.
Gov Abdulfatai Ahmed:    
Governor Abdulfatai Ahmed is the political son of Senator Saraki. Anywhere Saraki goes he goes. President Buhari cannot even contemplate nominating him into his 2019 campaign council because such nomination will be roundly rejected by the governor. Though the Kwara governor had no direct face-off with the presidency, the recent police report linking the governor’s office with the Offa robbery incident has created bad blood between the two.
Gov Rochas Okorocha:
The Imo State Governor was until recently in the forefront for the return of President Buhari in 2019. Political observers are of the view that Governor Rochas Okorocha was supporting Buhari for very selfish personal reasons. The governor wanted his son-in-law to succeed him while he will advance to the Senate and one of his sons will go to the Imo State House of Assembly. Governor Okorocha needed the full backing of Buhari to actualize this and hence his seemingly love for the Nigerian leader. However, Governor Okorocha’s plans fell like a pack of cards during the recent congresses of the APC in Imo State. The governor lost control of the party structures and his journey to Daura to seek the support of President Buhari did not yield any dividend. His political opponents outsmart him and he has been licking his wounds since the APC national leadership recognized the outcome of the controversial congresses in Imo state. Since he lost control of APC structure in Imo state all the praises Okorocha used to heap on President Buhari has disappeared. Buhari will be asking for too much if he expect Okorocha to lead his campaign in South East in 2019.
Governor Samuel Ortom:
The governor of Benue State, Dr Samuel Ortom will be stoned at home by his people if he dares join Buhari’s campaign train. His recent comment that Benue people will massively vote for Buhari next year is construed to be a satire. It is believed that the governor may be on his way out of APC because the part stands a very slim chance of winning the state because of the massacre of innocent farmers in the state by Fulani herdsmen.
nPDP members:  
Former members of the PDP led by Abubakar Baraje that defected to the APC in 2013 are presently at loggerhead with the Presidency and leadership of APC. These aggrieved APC members are believed to be on their way out of APC and will not be on Buhari’s campaign train unless urgent steps are taken to address their grievances. Leading figures in the nPDP are: Abubakar Bukola Saraki; Hon. Yakubu Dogara; Hon. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, Governor of Sokoto State; Sen. Rabiu M. Kwankwaso; Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola; Admiral Murtala Nyako (Rtd), Senator Mohammad Adamu Aliero; Sen. Danjuma Goje; Sen. John Owan Enoh; and Sen. Emmanuel Andy Uba.
Others are Sen. Dr. Ibrahim Gobir, Sen. Rufai Ibrahim, Sen. Ibrahim A. Danbaba, Sen. Suleman Nazif, Sen. Isa Hamma Misau, Sen. Muhammed Ubali Shitu, Sen. Shehu Sani, Sen. Dino Melaye, Sen. Suleiman O. Hunkuyi, Sen. Shaaba Lafiagi, Sen. Bala Ibn Na’Allah, Sen. David Umaru and Sen. Barnabas Gemade.
Also in nPDP are Rep. Aminu S. Shagari, Rep. Kabiru Marafa Achida, Rt. Hon. Isa M. Ashiru, Hon. Muh’d Musa Soba, Hon. Mark Gbillah, Rep. Sani Mohd Rano, Rep. Garba Umar Durbunde, Rep. Aliyu Madaki, Rep. Zakari Mohammed, Hon. Rufai Ahmed Chachangi, Hon. Razak Atunwa.
The nPDP also has on its list Hon. Emmanuel M. Udende, Hon. Hassan Saleh, Hon. Nasiru Garo Sule, Hon. Orker Jev, Hon. Aliyu Ahman Pategi, Hon. Isah Halilu B., Hon. Rabiu Garba Kaugama, Hon. Abdussamad Dasuki, Hon. Ismaila A. Gadaka, Hon. Lado Suleja, Hon. Dickson Tarkighir, Hon. Babatunde Kolawole, Hon. Dr. Bode Ayorinde, Hon. U. Danjuma Shida, Hon. Danburam Nuhu, Hon. Sunday Adepoju, Hon. Sani Zorro, Hon. Ahmed Garba Bichi, Hon. Garba Ibrahim Mohammed and a host of others.

Top News