Download Android Version

Manage your Employees, Payroll & Stock with Divine HRM. Click here for demo.

How many times have Premier League giants Chelsea won the FA Cup

- The Blues are the current holders of the English FA Cup title following their slim victory over Manchester United in May - They defeated Manchester United to win this year's championship at the Wembley Stadium Premier League giants Chelsea are undoubtedly one of the best clubs in England and by extension top five European Leagues. They claimed their first ever Champions League title in 2012 after a near miss in the 2008 edition - which they lost to fellow EPL club Manchester United on penalties. Just one season after, they emerged victorious again, but this time in the UEFA second tier championship. The Blues as they are fondly regarded to are also champions on the home front with five Premier Leagues titles to their credit - four of which came in the last 18 years. READ ALSO: Breaking: Chelsea sack Antonio Conte after just 2 years at the club In the 2017-18 league season, they failed to defend the English topflight title they won two seasons back - but clinched the FA Cup title. Their 1-0 victory over Manchester United at the Wembley Stadium on May 19 meant they have racked up eight FA Cup titles in the history of the championship. 1. Chelsea clinched their first ever FA Cup title in 1970 after beating Leeds United 4-3 on aggregate - after playing 2-2 in the initial game. With Peter Osgood and David Webb scoring the winner for the Blues in the replay of the game while Michael Jones' goal couldn't help his side avoid defeat at the end of the game. PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone 2. The Stamford Bridge outfit defeated Middlesbrough 2-0 to claim their second FA Cup 1997 - 27 years after wnning their first in that tournament. Goals from Roberto Di Matteo and Eddie Newton were all the London club needed to emerge victorious in that year. 3. In the year 2000, Gianluca Vialli led the Blues to their third longest domestic cup competition after beating Aston Villa 1-0 in just 90 minutes. Again, Roberto Di Matteo was the hero of the game as he scored the only goal of the match which powered his side to victory over their opponent. PAY ATTENTION: Click on link to get World Cup fixtures on 4. Chelsea won their fourth FA Cup title under Jose Mourinho during his first spell at the Stamford Bridge. They managed a 1-0 victory over Manchester United after extra time with Didier Drogba netting the only goal that separated the two sides in the game. 5. Their fifth title of the competition came in the 2008-09 league season with a slim 2-1 win over Everton football club. Louis Saha opened scoring for the Toffees in the game but a goal each from Didier Drogba and Frank Lampard ensured the Blues turned the result to their favour at the end of proceedings in the game. This time around, it was Guus Hiddink that was in charge of the team after the sack of the Portuguese tactician. 6. In 2010, Carlo Ancelotti inspired Chelsea side emerged victorious in the competition follosing their slim victory over Portsmouth at the Wembley Stadium. Didier Drogba's 59th minute striker was all the Stamford Bridge needed to claim their sixth FA Cup. PAY ATTENTION: Click on link to get World Cup groups on 7. It was the turn of Roberto Di Matteo to lead his former club side as a player to FA Cup glory. Having won the championship with the Blues twice, the Italian born former player turn managerled his team to a 2-1 win over Liverpool. Ramires and Didier Drogba both scored a goal each to hand the west London club victory while Andy Caroll grabbed a consolation for the Reds. 8. Eden Hazard's lone goal from the spot ensured Chelsea finished the 2017-18 season with silverware having lost the Premier League title to Manchester City. Meanwhile, Arsenal are the most successful team in the championship with 13 titles, followed by Manchester United who have won 12. Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur are tied on eight titles apiece while Liverpool have won the title seven times. Manchester City are five times winners of the competition - two lesser than that of Liverpool. Super Eagles: What Happened After The World Cup - TV Subscribe to watch new videos Source:

Top News